Circular needles

Pretty much anything with yarn, cotton, needles and thread
Newbie Viv

Circular needles

Postby Newbie Viv » Fri Apr 15, 2016 8:13 pm

HELP!!!
I'm relatively new to knitting but love a challenge and recently started a mans sweater. I'm at a stage where I need to use circular needles. Having never used them before It took a while to get use to them but I struggled on and finally got to grips with them and was actually enjoying them until SNAP, the plastic came out of the end of one of them and I spent ages picking up dropped stitches.
I assumed it was just a fault with those needles so bought more and proceeded to swap the stitches over and SNAP, you guessed it :anger:
Can anyone please tell me if this happens all the time with circular needles and if so what's the use of them?
If anyone knows of really reliable circulars I'd love to know what they are. The ones I've been using are 'Pony'.
I would hate to abandon my sweater as I was doing really well.
Any advice would be much appreciated.
:tyou:
Viv.

Carolyn
The Boss

Re: Circular needles

Postby Carolyn » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:21 pm

I have used them but not for a big item, so maybe they are not so good with a big weight, but they make them long enough so you would expect them to be OK.

I actually started using 5 needles rather than circular and found them easier in the end.

Welcome to the forum :) Lovely to see a newbie

Kath

Postby Kath » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:45 pm

I am not keen on knitting at all, Viv, so couldn't give any advice. How annoying though. I should take them back and complainbecause they shouldn't snap like that.

Welcome to the forum.

Newbie Viv

Postby Newbie Viv » Fri Apr 15, 2016 11:56 pm

Thanks girls.